Umm wow so where did August go? And can I get some of it back please… Understatement to say that I have had lots going on lately. But I do promise to try and get on top of things, I have some socks to show anyways.

Purchase (10/101)

  1. Treat myself to a massage or a facial once a year
  2. Buy a Lomo camera
  3. Buy one piece of art
  4. Buy fresh flowers for my room once a month for a year
  5. Buy a new “professional” set of luggage
  6. Buy one piece of investment furniture (so I bought a room of furniture. I dont know if I’d call it investment furniture, but it is simple/classic enough (west elm narrow leg 4 drawer dresser, bed frame and a very nice mattress) that unless I have to get rid of everything I should have it for a good long while)
  7. Get a subscription to National Geographic Traveller, New Yorker, Economist
  8. Buy an antique map of Paris and frame it
  9. Buy a new DSLR upgrade (ummm yeah I got a nice little present for myself from work and so yeah I kinda own a new toy now!)
  10. Find and buy one pair of killer jeans

Health (15/101)

  1. Run/Participate in a 5k, 10k, and half marathon
  2. Participate in an olympic distance triathalon
  3. 30 day trial… bikram yoga 3 times a week (went once this last month. I need to get it together but will be gone half of this month…)
  4. Visit a nutritionist/naturopath
  5. Do a master body cleansing/fast/colonic

Travel (31/101)

  1. Rent a beach house for a getaway
  2. Go surfing in Costa Rica or Hawaii
  3. Visit 3 national parks (i.e. Antelope Canyon, Grand Canyon, Muir Woods, Yosemite, Moab, The Arches, Grand Tetons)
  4. Take a working vacation at a winery in the south of France
  5. Play in the tulips in Netherlands and Skagit Valley
  6. Visit 10 friends
  7. Rent a convertible and go on a road trip
  8. Do an Ashram in India or Bali
  9. Camp out in Wadi Rum
  10. Climb up Macchu Picchu
  11. Visit a buddhist temple in a buddhist country
  12. Watch an opera at La Scala and a ballet at Opera Garnier
  13. See the northern lights in Iceland
  14. Go to Ireland
  15. Go on a crazy Thelma Louise girls trip
  16. Stay in a luxurious 5 star hotel

Finance (42/101)

  1. Work to better credit score (by 50-100 points)
  2. Contribute at least 50% of max out to my Roth IRA annually (approx. $2000-2500) (done 2007, on track to 75-100% max out for 2008)
  3. Create, maintain and track my budget for one year (not much change- still need to finish out the medical reimbursement requests, shipping reimbursements should be sent soon… and while not budgeting have lived within the paycheck limitations though I have had MASSIVE tranfusion flows going through me this month and am still working to rebalance all the accounts)
  4. Pay off all credit cards and maintain zero balances (all balances can be paid off with savings if need be)
  5. Save $5 for 1001 days (I am hoping I will catch up this month, but also have grad school savings to set aside for)
  6. Do my taxes annually (2007 done)
  7. Invest in retirement and net worth (10% of income)
  8. Pay off 50% of remaining student loans (as of now I have paid 10% off, but may need to revise as overpaying on such low interest rate may not be the smartest part of the equation)
  9. Invest in socially responsible mutual funds (2% of income)
  10. Get a major credit card: use and pay of in full monthly
  11. Save $10000 towards a major investment (purchase of property etc)

Learning (53/101)

  1. Take a photography course on light and flash
  2. Learn how to fly the trapeze
  3. Take an intensive Spanish language course in Spain
  4. Get my a scuba diving certification
  5. Learn how to drive a Vespa
  6. Take a wine tasting course
  7. Learn how to dye yarn
  8. Learn more about buddhism
  9. Research travel photography and writing
  10. Take skiing lessons in the alps
  11. Learn 5 Photoshop tricks

Reading (59/101)

  1. Go to 3 book readings
  2. Read 6 classics and 5 works pre- 1950 (one down 5 to go for classics)
  3. Read a banned book, a booker book, a pulitzer prize book
  4. Read the Tao Te Ching
  5. Read 3 biographies per year (one down two to go 2008)
  6. Enter all my books into Library Thing

Creativity (69/101)

  1. Design my blog (working with a friend to finalise what the Etsy person didn’t deliver on)
  2. Do a photographic travel/documentary project (this month I will be in Ghana and giving this my first try, it wont be well planned so I am just hoping to get my feet wet and learn enough, but it is in the “right” direction)
  3. Knit three sweaters for myself (Sweater #1 to be finished… Sweater #2 Bought the yarn)
  4. Document all my yarn stash (might be one of this month’s photographic projects…once I can figure out a “light box” thing)
  5. Print 10 of my photos for framing and hanging (doing a test printing of photos I like this month!)
  6. Keep a film and book list
  7. Sell 5 photos
  8. Participate in Sunday scribbles
  9. Go to the cinema once a month (saw Vicky Christina Barcelona )
  10. Make a quotes book

Gastronomy (74/101)

  1. Go berry picking
  2. Eat at 12 new restaurants- one three star
  3. Try one new recipe a month
  4. Throw a dinner party for 8 friends
  5. Try 6 new foods and 6 foods I “dont like” (3 more to go! on the “dont like” tally; 6 on the new foods)

Career (77/101)

  1. Take GRE Course and Exam (1350 score goal) (Slowly but surely, I am trying to force myself to do the prep work… sigh. Must set a date here soon thinking mid October)
  2. Apply to 10 PhD programmes
  3. Work on creating a career path

Do (101/101)

  1. Go galopping on a horse out in the free range
  2. Participate in some volunteer/public service project (maybe dealing with sexual health or at a soup kitchen)
  3. Go canoeing in Central Park
  4. Watch one classic movie per month (Watched Hud this month)
  5. Go to a live music festival
  6. Go to Shakespeare in the Park
  7. Meditate for 5 minutes 3 times a week
  8. Purge my wardrobe (of at least 30%) (hmmm well I got rid of some and then some in storage… but I still need to weed more ) Since I just bought a dresser yesterday, some more of this will be happening over the next 2 weeks)
  9. Attend a meditation retreat (5+ days)
  10. Go snowshoeing
  11. Get rid of 101 things
  12. Consolidate and reduce my storage needs and use
  13. Go to the HCB museum in Paris
  14. Reduce my carbon footprint (by 10-20%)
  15. Donate “one meal out” per month to a Food Bank
  16. Spend 5 minutes daily in total silence and inactivity for a month
  17. Visit my grandmother and father’s graves and take flowers
  18. Go to an outdoor movie
  19. Live in a new city in 1001 days
  20. Hang my mirror, shelves and frames
  21. Trace my Irish geneology
  22. See a broadway play
  23. Preserve my family photos
  24. Go to a museum once every other month (Tenement Museum this month… promise ) )
