Katie is having a blog contest… and about two weeks ago Crazy Aunt Purl had a post about books that had me “wishlisting” on Amazon like crazy (I am the only one ever buying anything from that dang list though). And this all made me think… I want to talk about books here too. This blog (if I can really call it that) is going to be everything BUT knitting (and the sweater I am done knitting but still have to finish) by the time I am done… Sigh, but at least I am trying to get back up on the horse.

When I was a kid it was hard to find me without my nose in a book. But by the time I got through undergrad and then grad school, the idea of reading… well it was strapped on to the notion of work. So for a while there I stopped reading for fun. Then I realised that there was so little I had read of the classics, I LOVED being in the UVillage Barnes and Noble and damn don’t I want to be a well rounded person?? So I fell back in love with books and have commited more money to the Amazon Gods than any river can carry. As a matter of fact of the 350 lbs of things I shipped to myself from Paris, 275 of them… Books/Papers. Now I know I commit heresy, but I read not knit on my subway rides- and that is where most of my reading takes place. My commute takes me 45 minutes door to door (with my morning muffin stop) each way and it is a rare occasion that I am to be found without a book on my person (cause you never know how long you are going to be in transit, especially if you live on the L train like I do…). Currently in rotation is The Architecture of Happiness by Alain de Botton. And you know what, it indeed does make me happy to read the book.

So I thought I should repost my top ten favorite reads, and a list of reading. So here goes…

A selection of my favorites (not necessarily including everything) from my library thing (which I totally love!)

  1. The Zahir (Paolo Coehlo) Brilliant man anything by him is worth the time.
  2. Fountain Head (Ayn Rand- lots to read but love to read it!)
  3. How Proust Can Change Your Life (Alain de Botton) This book and this author changed my life and has had me pulled into all his books!
  4. Cod (Mark Kurlansy) any of the “food” as more than food books from Mark Kurlansy are worth reading and so damn interesting
  5. Kafka on the Shore (Haruki Murakami) Liked it enough to get Norwegian Wood which I wizzed through too
  6. Lemon Tree (Sandy Tolan) An incredible book on a conflict that has been tearing a region apart for longer than I care to think… a region that has a special place in my heart
  7. The Mandarins (Simone de Beauvoir) great to read about when I was living there, but it is still nice when you arent there.
  8. Me Talk Pretty One Day (Dave Sedaris) I adore this man. Got to meet and have drinks with him. He makes me laugh inordinately.
  9. I Am A Stranger Here Myself (Bill Bryson) Anything by the man is worth it! He often makes me laugh out loud and as a recent “re”patriate from the expatriate life this one totally touches me.
  10. Stretching Lessons (Sue Bender) Whenever I feel myself a bit adrift or torn apart a bit… this book brings me a bit back together.

My Summer Time Reading is FUN-da-mental list (a list that will probably carry on into other seasons :))

  1. Anna Karenina
  2. Life of Pi
  3. Great Expectations
  4. Foucault’s Pendulum
  5. The Grapes of Wrath
  6. Les Misérables
  7. A People’s History of the United States : 1492-present
  8. Dubliners
  9. Eats, Shoots & Leaves
  10. Lolita
  11. Persuasion
  12. Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance : an inquiry into values
  13. The House of Mirth
